Rita Colwell

Distinguished University Professor
3103 Biomolecular Sciences Building
Ph.D., University of Washington (Oceanography)
Special Awards/Honors: 
2006 National Medal of Science (given by President George W. Bush), 2010 Stockholm Water Prize Laureate, AAAS, President, American Society for Microbiology (ASM), President of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), Maryland's Top 100 Women, Maryland's Top 100 Women Hall of Fame, Elected Member National Academy of Sciences, Foreign Fellow of The Royal Society of Canada, Fellow AAAS, AIBS Outstanding Service Award, Central Intelligence Agency Civilian Recognition Award, National Women's Hall of Fame, "The Order of the Rising Sun, Gold and Silver Star," Japan Society for Promotion of Science , President-Elect, American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), President, American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), AAUW Award (American Association of University Women), and several others.